Department of GCIS Structure

Department of GCIS Structure

Department of GCIS Structure

Structure


The Director-General of GCIS is also the official spokesperson for government. She chairs the GCIS Executive Committee (Exco), a strategising body who integrates, coordinates and rationalises the work of GCIS and government communication.
The Government Communication and Information System (GCIS) is made up of three branches, each lead by a Deputy Director-General (DDG). Each GCIS branch is divided into chief directorates, managed by chief directors.
The organogram below shows the three GCIS branches with their chief directorates. You can click on any of these to get more information, including functions of sub-units and contact information of relevant managers.

Director-General (Acting)
Phumla Williams
Tel: 012 473 0245
precian@gcis.gov.za
Deputy Director-General (Acting)
Content Processing and Dissemination
Tasneem Carrim
Tel: 012 473 0298
tasneem@gcis.gov.za
–|–|–|–|–|–|–
Products and Platforms
Chief Director: Des Latham
Tel: 012 473 0324
des@gcis.gov.za
__________________
Communications Service Agency
Chief Director:
Donald Liphoko
Tel: 012 473 0063
donaldl@gcis.gov.za
__________________
Policy & Research
Chief Director:
Nkele Sebasa (Acting)
Tel: 012 473 0207
nkele@gcis.gov.za
Deputy Director-General (Acting)
Corporate Services
Keitu Semakane
Tel: 012 473 0128
keitu@gcis.gov.za
–|–|–|–|–|–|–
Human Resources
Chief Director:
Keitu Semakane
Tel: 012 473 0128
keitu@gcis.gov.za
__________________
Information Management & Technology
Chief Information Officer:
Terry Vandayar
Tel: 012 473 0304
terry@gcis.gov.za
__________________
Strategic Planning & Programme Management
Chief Director:
Zukiswa Potye
Tel: 012 473 0339
zukiswap@gcis.gov.za
Deputy Director-General (Acting)
Intergovernmental Coordination and Stakeholder Management
Michael Currin
Tel: 012 473 0183
michael@gcis.gov.za
–|–|–|–|–|–|–
Cluster supervision: Economic Sector & Employment; Infrastructure Development;  Justice, Crime Prevention & Security; International Cooperation, Trade & Security Clusters
Chief Director: David Jacobs
Tel: 012 473 0055
davidj@gcis.gov.za
__________________
Cluster supervision: Human Development; Social Protection & Community Development; Governance & Administration Clusters
Chief Director: Tiisetso Ramotse (Acting)
Tel: 012 473 0204
tiisetso@gcis.gov.za
__________________
Provincial & Local Liaison
Chief Director:
Michael Currin
Tel: 012 473 0183
michael@gcis.gov.za
__________________
Media Engagement
Chief Director:
William Baloyi
Tel: 012 473 0497
williamb@gcis.gov.za

Finance, Supply Chain & Auxiliary Services
Chief Financial Officer (Vacant)
__________________
Internal Audit
Chief Director:
Nkoana Dalson Modiba
Tel: 012 473 0054
nkoana@gcis.gov.za